Martin Luther + 18.February

 

Help me, Saint Ann– a monk I shall be!

Thunder & Lightning, keep thou from me.

Keep me from Storm and Fire this day!

Help me, dear Anna– Of thee I pray


by Lucas Cranach, the elderSo spake young Martin, alone in the wood.

Swearing in faith to do what he would;

Speaking the words, for fear of the bolt–

Surging his Heart with a glorious tumult.


Fear I decry!– Fear give me lurch–

Lightning I’ll strike at the heart of the Church!

Twelve years would pass

When right after mass

Hammer would hound against wood

Sounding the knell where he stood.

Rending The Body, limb from goode limb.

Martin would do what seemed right to him.

OT | Ps | NT | Gospel

Leave a Reply

